Sully Says So

One of college basketball’s best young talents, Ohio State big man Jared Sullinger, has apparently already stated that he intends to return for his sophomore season in Columbus next year. Sullinger stated that “Winning is that important to me, I don’t like losing”, so he presumably sees an opportunity for Ohio State to contend for a national title next year if he returns. I would have to agree with Sullinger, as Ohio State is bringing in 4 ESPN Top 100 recruits next year in PG Shannon Scott, C Amir Williams, SF Sam Thompson and SF LaQuinton Ross, to play alongside  a hungrier, presumably more refined Sullinger and I’d say that’d make them the clear favorite to win next year.

That being said, don’t be surprised if Sullinger gets over this melancholy in a couple of weeks when he realizes he’s a consensus top-five pick in the NBA draft this year. That means millions. That means a realization of lifetime dreams.

Where I stand on this issue, I’m not really sure. I absolutely LOVE when guys elect to stay in college, because that means, as a fan, I get to see that much more of a great player before he gets shipped off to the basketball Serbia that is Minnesota, or Cleveland, or Sacramento. But I can’t fault a guy for leaving a system that clearly exploits him, in order to strike it big as a lottery pick (I do truly LOAATTHHHEEE, however, when mid-to-late first round picks decide to leave early, OMAR COOK!).

Kudos to Sullinger if he ultimately decides to return to Columbus next season. I’d do the same fuckin thing. Shit, you know how much pussy these dudes get on campus? Do you know how much fanfare and stardom they get? They’re literally celebrities on campus. I know, because I went to school 10 minutes from UConn, and I witnessed first-hand as troves of bitches and even dudes threw themselves at Rudy Gay, Hasheem Thabeet, Jeff Adrian, shit, even Gavin Edwards, every time they went out to campus parties. Hell yes I’m gonna name drop, fuck, I even stood side-by-side with Rudy at a party he was at after having already spent a year in the league with the Grizzlies (“Yeah, it’s cool down there man, chill place”, his response to my inquiry of how he likes Memphis). It was unbelievable. The amount of free shit they get from their peers definitely monetarily surpasses any  money they’d get from an agent. I don’t think a single D1 college basketball player has ever bought a beer on campus, let alone a cup at a keg party. College is truly a once in a lifetime experience, and the experience just gets magnified when you’re a member of a prominent athletic team, and even more if you’re its’ nationally renowned superstar.

Put your cups up here, for the snatch-chasin, party-crashin, frat-cravin, Columbus college boy for putting the money on hold in favor of priceless times.

4 Responses

  1. As a NBA fan I’m glad he’s coming back. As a Michigan student I’m not! I’m tired of these one and done’s. It waste time and money from player who actually want to be there. That being said I don’t know if Ohio St will continue to contend next year. They lose Lighty which I believe is a underrated player for them. They will def be top of the Big Ten, but I personally believe they will be worse then this year. They had a great team and it will take at least two years to get back there. If he does decide to stay, he should consider that it may be two years before Ohio St gets back to the NCAA Title days.

    • I’ll stay away from the debate centering around NEXT year’s title hopes. Lighty’s great but bottom line is Sullinger returns as the best player in the country, so that means a lot in my opinion. Plus, Thad Matta, come on! (note: I am NOT an OSU fan, I actually side with Michigan in all aspects of this furious rivalry)
      And I’m with you on the one and done’s. Kentucky winning the title this year could be the worst result possible for college basketball, because up to this point, one and done factories have yet to win anything (Melo/Cuse & Manning/Kansas are the only years I can even think of a freshman-led team winning anything) . The rule as it stands now clearly hurts college basketball, but I think its intentions are good.
      I think the NBA should rework the rule and make it into something like this: Every year NBA GMs get together and come up with a consensus list of no more than 15 underclassmen (including HS Seniors) that will be allowed to enter the draft, with all Juniors and Seniors being eligible if they choose to enter. This way, the LeBron Jameses of the world don’t get stuck spending a meaningless year in college, and college teams are able to get some sort of stability in regards to commitment.

      • I’ve thought about what the NBA should do for sometime. It may sound different, but hear me out. One; NO High School player can go straight to the NBA. If a high school player does decide they want to go pro they must play in the NBA-D League for one season before being on the official NBA roster. This would increase D league viewers while helping players transition from the High School to the NBA. I don’t like the idea of leaving it up to the NBA GM. I feel that could end badly especially if certain players are good and GM knows they wont get them. Instead of voting them in they may not vote for them just to make sure another team doesn’t get them. It sounds crazy, but the NBA is a business and when it comes to future investments I wouldn’t put it past any GM to do something less than ethical. Two; I believe players should be required to go three years. This exstention of the college career not only gives players the incentive to either go to college or just go to the D League, but it also gives college players the incentive to stay for all four years. It sounds crazy, but I feel this way everyone gets a perk. Everyone doesn’t “Win” but I feel no one loses.

      • Look at this, all it took was two common-sense driven minds, and a mini-brainstorm session and my man, we have solved this HS/NCAA/NBA relationship issue. Love the idea of bringing the NBDL into this, because I agree it needs revenue spikes, especially if it ever intends to be a legitimate minor-league entity of the NBA (and that HAS to be the goal, 32 teams, each one associated solely with an NBA franchise). This would also quell any possibility of a surge in European defectors (though I don’t think that will ever really materialize). I also agree with you 100% on the NBA GMs picking eligibility, it could get very political. I’m with you on the 3-year requirement as well, but let’s extend that to the HS to D-Leaguers as well. I’d make this tweak to your plan, and institute it tomorrow:

        If a sophomore/freshman drops out of school, he would be eligible to sign in the NBDL, and could not transition to the NBA until he has reached a 4-years from HS cutoff. If a HS prospect is good enough to enter and get signed in the NBDL (as judged by NBDL scouts, etc.), they receive a guaranteed 4-year contract. I say we let NBDL teams offer contracts from the finale of the HS basketball season to any HS senior and prospects have until NCAA signing day to accept those contracts. At the conclusion of the four-year contract, a player would be free to sign anywhere they would like, but if an NBA team chooses to sign such player, they would have to forfeit a 2nd-round draft pick. Within that 4-year contract, after two years in the D-League, a player can choose to declare himself eligible for the NBA Draft. If a player enters the draft in their 2nd or 3rd years, and does not get drafted, he would not be able to sign as a free agent in the NBA until the conclusion of his 4th year from college, but NBA teams signing those players would not be required to forfeit a draft pick. This would eliminate the possibility of players attempting to work the system. Ultimately, 3-years from HS minimum if a player goes the NCAA route, and a conditional 4-years from HS minimum if a player goes the NBDL route. If they’re good enough, they’ll get there quicker. If they’re not, the system will develop them.

        Now, if the NBDL everrrrr gets to 32 teams, well, that’d be a whole new ballgame, but it would definitely make for a dream situation that I can’t even comprehend right now. Imagine, teams outside of LA and Boston actually mattering. Stockpiling young talent in the minors would be a legitimate way to build a team. Maybe, for once, we would see some legitimate parity in the NBA?!

Leave a Reply

