We Fight Evil

One of my favorite rappers out, Lupe Fiasco, is set to release his new album next week. L.A.S.E.R.S. drops Tuesday, March 8th and I’m anxiously waiting for that shiiiiiit. Fortunately, I was able to get my hands on a bootleg version (settle the fuck down, Lars, I already purchased the IPass) of that album ahead of the release date, and I must say, I’m feelin it.

I’m not about the album reviews and all that shit, because what do I know about music that can help anyone else? I know what tingles my ears best, and me giving it 4 out of 5 mics or asparagus stalks or chodes, what does that tell a prospective buyer? Nothing. In my opinion artists should just release their albums for free, with a week or two trial period. Beyond that, if you’re feelin it you buy it, if not, you don’t. That way the consumer doesn’t get suckered into buying subpar shit-storm albums, churned out just so an artist can meet a label requirement (lookin’ at you, fitty), and the label doesn’t get screwed by bootleggers.

Back to Lupe though, if you’re a fan of rap then it’s no secret the hassle Lupe has had to endure just to get this album out. ( more info on that here with some pretty good business background info as well: http://www.statenews.com/index.php/article/2011/03/fiasco_politics_and_pop_culture) Dude had this album ready almost a year ago, and it was shelved by his record company for whatever reasons. We need more mainstream artists fighting the politics and bullshit that goes on at record labels.

Bottom line of all this shit is this: Big-ups to Lupe for finally gettin’ L.A.S.E.R.S. out to the public, and please support an artist who is entirely of and for the people by going out and purchasing this album. In the words of the man himself, from the single “Words I Never Said”:  I’m a part of the problem, my problem is I’m peaceful, and I believe in the people!

One Response

  1. […] Quick update relating to this previous post regarding my main man Lupe Fiasco and his album L.A.S.E.R.S. Well, Lupe dropped that album just […]

Leave a Reply

